Everyday Peace

Today I’ve been doing laundry. Everyday work reminds me of the role of simple, ordinary, everyday things in helping me remember that I live as the creature before the Creator (to use Francis Schaeffer’s phrase!). He is the One who created me, and the One who orders my days. I do the laundry, and He upholds the universe.

Sometimes there are situations and circumstances I don’t understand, and I’m not even sure what the next step is. There are times I need to think deeply and struggle through to the why. There are other times overthinking and analyzing can be a subtle form of pride, because it reveals that my heart wants to understand in order to control or to feel secure. It is good then for me to remember that I am not God, and I should leave the things too difficult for me (and, believe me, they number as the sands on the shore!) to Him.

Laundry I can understand, and that’s a humbling level of understanding. As for the other things, I need to learn again to calm and quiet my soul and rest against my heavenly Father. I remember that my hope is in Him.

O LORD, my heart is not proud, nor my eyes haughty;
Nor do I involve myself in great matters,
Or in things too difficult for me.
Surely I have composed and quieted my soul;
Like a weaned child rests against his mother,
My soul is like a weaned child within me.
O Israel, hope in the LORD
From this time forth and forever.

Psalm 131




__________
Washing DayFreeFoto.com

This entry was posted in Bible, Peace, Schaeffer, Francis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

