A New Year’s Blogging

I’ve wanted to blog more often, but time constraints have been hard to overcome because of the writing and research needed for most of my posts, as well as trying to find a photo or graphic that works with my words.  Sometimes after I’ve finished a series, it’s taken some time to decide what to do next.  Daily life goes on as well!

The WordPress folks send out encouraging notices and helps on blogging, and last week they had one about blogging once a day or once a week during 2011.  After my post yesterday, A New Year’s New Mind, on reading through the Bible in 2011, I had an idea to encourage you in your Bible reading and to help me with blogging.

As I read through the Bible, I’ll be posting my own thoughts and reflections on what I read.  Because I’ll intersperse these with my other posts, I may group some of my thoughts on several days of Bible reading together, but I will try to share some of my thoughts on each group of passages.  I hope this combination will enable me to post daily in 2011.

For the Bible reading posts, I’ll be using the sidebar photograph over the links to the Bible reading plans.  I love this photograph  because the Bible is open to Isaiah 42, and I chose the name, Kindling for Candles, from an incident in Matthew 12:8-21, between Jesus, the Pharisees and the people, which Matthew writes was to fulfill Isaiah 42:1–4.  The tag line at the very top, …until He leads justice to victory, is also from Matthew 12.

I know it won’t be easy for me to keep up on a daily basis, but I hope it will be helpful and encouraging both to you and to me.  If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments or using the contact form on the right to send me your thoughts or questions.  Writing is so different from interacting face to face because I don’t know who most of you are and what is helpful to you.  I write as I believe the Lord leads as I pray and think over needs I see in others, my own experiences and what I am learning.

I also want to mention I’ve been very grateful for the free software WordPress makes available to everyone, because without it I wouldn’t be able to do this blog.  They’re doing The DailyPost to help bloggers who are trying to write more often.

May the Lord be with you and bless you in 2011, and may we grow in Christ together.

_________
Isaiah 42 Photograph: ChristianPhotos.net – Free High Resolution Photos for Christian Publications

Original content: Copyright ©2011 Iwana Carpenter

This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Life, Encouragement, Read the Bible in 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

