Psalms 27–29: Providence & Power

Read the Bible in 2011 ◊ Week 10: Wednesday

To You, O LORD, I call;
My rock, do not be deaf to me,
For if You are silent to me,
I will become like those who go down to the pit.
Hear the voice of my supplications when I cry to You
for help,
When I lift up my hands toward Your holy sanctuary.

Psalm 28:1–2

Wednesday’s Bible reading is Psalms 27–29. These psalms contain both prayers for help and affirmation and praise for God’s strength and deliverance. Psalm 27 is a very special psalm to me because of what it meant to my friend Lisa and to me.

Because of my hearing loss, I have had to have numerous MRIs done. I’m slightly claustrophobic, and it was an endurance test to go through one. Soon after I had been memorizing Psalm 27, it was time for another one. As I lay there, I decided to go over the psalm as a way to concentrate my attention away from the machinery. While I was thinking over the words, it occurred to me that God, the Creator of the universe whose Presence reached beyond all boundaries of space was right there with me inside that small machine.

With that realization my feeling of being closed-in was completely gone, and I was able to relax. Since that time I’ve continued to have MRIs, but each time the Lord of the Universe, the Living God, has been there with me to help me.

I don’t tell you this story to give you a formula or talisman, because God is a Person, not a superstition, and He knows the times and days of each of His children. I wanted to tell you this story as a record and witness of God’s providential help on my behalf through His Word. My mind was not empty nor was I seeking an experience—I was turning to God for help. Why He has continued to deliver me and ease my mind when I have this testing done, I do not know, but I am grateful that He has chosen to work in this way on my behalf.

“The LORD is their strength,
And He is a saving defense to His anointed.
Save Your people and bless Your inheritance;
Be their shepherd also, and carry them forever.”
Psalm 28:8–9


_________
Isaiah 42 Photograph: ChristianPhotos.net – Free High Resolution Photos for Christian Publications
Pleiades Star Cluster, NASA, ESA, AURA/Caltech, Palomar Observatory: Public Domain.

Original content: Copyright ©2011 Iwana Carpenter

This entry was posted in Christian Life, Comfort, Encouragement, God, Grace, Love, Mercy, Peace, Read the Bible in 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

