Psalms 30–32: A Refuge & A Rock

Read the Bible in 2011 ◊ Week 11: Wednesday

Blessed be the LORD,
For He has made marvelous His lovingkindness to me
in a besieged city.

Psalm 31:21

Wednesday’s Bible reading of Psalms 30–32, speaks of God as our shelter and safety and of the blessings of being forgiven by Him and of His lovingkindness.

There are times in our lives when the future may seem so dim to us that we feel unable to see even a handsbreadth in front of our face. David’s words assure us that God has seen our affliction, He has known the troubles of our soul, and that when we take refuge in Him, then He will hide us in the secret place of His presence and shelter us.

There are times when we are surrounded by enemies, but God hears our prayers in our besieged city, and He is with us. From what I know of history, a siege could be long, arduous and terrifying—but in the midst of any ordeal we may know, no siege can keep God’s lovingkindness from us as He gives us comfort, consolation and help for each moment.

“In You, O LORD, I have taken refuge;
Let me never be ashamed;
In Your righteousness deliver me.
Incline Your ear to me, rescue me quickly;
Be to me a rock of strength,
A stronghold to save me.
For You are my rock and my fortress;
For Your name’s sake You will lead me and guide me.
You will pull me out of the net which they have secretly laid for me,
For You are my strength.
Into Your hand I commit my spirit;
You have ransomed me, O LORD, God of truth.”
Psalm 31:1–5


_________
Isaiah 42 Photograph: ChristianPhotos.net – Free High Resolution Photos for Christian Publications

Original content: Copyright ©2011 Iwana Carpenter

This entry was posted in Adversity, Christian Life, Comfort, Courage, Encouragement, Evil, Faith, Forgiveness, God, Hope, Love, Mercy, Perilous Times, Personal Distress, Read the Bible in 2011, Sin, Suffering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

